Board Of Directors

Executive Committee
State Director Laura Miller, SHRM-CP, PHR
State Director-Elect Nancy Wraight, SHRM-SCP, PHR
Immediate Past State Director Dave Ryan, SHRM-SCP
Finance Director Todd Ray, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
Executive Director Lori Maher McCombs
Marketing/Communications Director Brendan Nicholls, SHRM-SCP
Membership Director Chris Johnson
Core Leaders
College Relations Director Jodi Coplan
Legislative/Governmental Affairs Director Janeane Reis
SHRM Foundation Director Pat Young
SHRM Certification Director Lucas Hellmer
Diversity, Inclusion, Equity & Belonging Director Shonda Cromwell-Rashad
Workforce Readiness Director Sharon Lewis
Non-Voting Board Positions
Co-Legislative/Governmental Affairs Director Laurie Trompeter
YP Specialist Amy Tran
SHRM Prep Course Facilitator Tamara O’Brien
Recertification Specialist Monique Oritz
Veteran’s Specialist Will Hart
Director At-Large Denise St. Pierre
Director At-Large Rob Burn
Chapter Presidents
Chicago SHRM #004 Jeanette Johnson
HRA of Greater Oak Brook #212 Brendan Nicholls, SHRM-SCP
DuPage SHRM #316 Erin Murphy, SHRM-CP
Illinois Fox Valley SHRM #699 Sarah Sester, SHRM-CP, PHR
Illinois Fox Valley SHRM #699 Lisa Gruhlke
South Suburban Cook  #0751 Erica Ferrell
Northwest HR Council #193 Mike LoPresti, MBA, PHR, SHRM-CP
Rock River Human Resource Professional Association #493 Amanda Jacinto
Bloomington/Normal HR Council #064 Jill Smith
Central Illinois HR Group #246 Paige Hall, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
Decatur Area SHRM #555 Fred Spannaus
HRA of East Central Illinois #448 Haley Helton, SHRM-CP
Kankakee Area HRMA #399 Brittney Davis
Northern Illinois SHRM #328 Jodi Coplan, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
Rockford Area SHRM #182 Cheryl Tunison
Central Illinois SHRM #223 Patricia Young, SHRM-CP, PHR
Heart of IL SHRM #326 Mary Stanbary
Quincy SHRM #491 Julie Bonasigna
Metro East  #752 Reba Phillips, SPHR
Stateline SHRM #532 Margaret “Peggy” Troyer, SHRM-SCP
Illinois Valley SHRM #596 Kimberly Wittenauer
Grundy Will HR Association #619 Denise Kasper, SHRM-CP, PHR

Open Positions (none currently)



Thank you to our past State Council directors! Their leadership and dedication to SHRM and the HR profession is greatly appreciated.
2021Laura Miller, SHRM-SCP, PHR
2019 & 2020Becky Krueger, SHRM-SCP, PHR
2017 & 2018Dave Ryan, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
2015 & 2016Connie Woglemuth, SHRM-CP, PHR
2013 & 2014Cathy Plouzek, SHRM-SCP, SPHR 
2011 & 2012Donna K. Rogers, SPHR 
2009 & 2010John Jorgensen, SPHR 
2007 & 2008Carolyn Sperl, SPHR/GPHR 
2005 & 2006Michelle Jackson, SPHR 
2002 & 2004Deneen Costa, SPHR 
2000 & 2001Kristin Velasquez, SPHR 
1998 & 1999Garry Tackett, GPHR, SPHR 
1996 & 1997Lyndy Nierman 
1995 & 1996Claudia Colallilo, SPHR