Information & Resources

Around the State – Newsletters

Around the State is a monthly newsletter highlighting student chapter activities, SHRM updates, and Hot Topics.  Read the latest news about the great things our student chapters are doing to make a difference on campus and in the community.

May Newsletter 2016

April Newsletter 2016

March Newsletter 2016

Student Chapter Resources

Need information to support your chapter membership!

Student Scholarship Program:  The SHRM Foundation offers education scholarships for eligible graduate and undergraduate students.

Assurance of Learning Assessment for Graduating Students:  Examination for students completing a bachelor’s or master’s HR or HR-related degree who have little to no experience in HR.

2016 – 2107 Student Chapter Merit Award Planning Workbook:  Planning workbook for projects and activities focused on representing the HR profession on campus.

Student Chapter Operations Manual:  Resources for all chapter leaders to help manage and grow the student chapter within the college/university.

Student Chapter Advisor’s Resources:  SHRM’s resources for Chapter Advisor’s and HR Educators.

Chapter NameChapter AdvisorEmailCo-AdvisorEmailLocal Affiliate Chapter
ILLINOIS STATE UNIVERSITYDr. Joseph Goodman, Ph.D., SPHRjgoodma@ilstu.eduBloomington IL Human Resources Council Chapter
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS SPRINGFIELD SHRM STUDENT CHAPTERDonna Rogers Skowronskidroge1@uis.eduAshley Millerashley.miller@hshs.orgCentral Illinois SHRM Chapter
DEPAUL UNIVERSITYWilliam Martinmartym@depaul.eduChicago SHRM
LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGODennis Nirtautdnirtaut@luc.eduChicago SHRM
MORRIS STUDENT CHAPTER OF SHRMWilliam McClintonwmcclinton@robertmorris.eduChicago SHRM
NATIONAL LOUIS UNIVERSITYUrsula Pawlowskiupawlowski@nl.eduChicago SHRM
ROOSEVELT UNIVERSITYCarolyn Wiley, Ph.D., SHRM-SCP, SPHR, DipEmpLawcwiley@roosevelt.edu Chicago SHRM
WESTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY- QUAD CITIES SHRM STUDENT CHAPTERDr. Susan Stewart, Ph.D.Sm-stewart2@wiu.eduGRHRA - Davenport, IA
EASTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYMark Bayer mbayer@eiu.eduJeff Snelljjsnell@eiu.eduHRA of East Central Illinois
WESTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYBruce WesternBA-Western@wiu.eduILSHRM
OLIVET NAZARENE UNIVERSITY SHRMAndy Corbusacorbus@olivet.eduKanakee Area HRMA
NORTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYTerrence R. Bishoptbishop@niu.eduRockford Area SHRM
SAINT XAVIER UNIVERSITYDr. Ekundayo Y. Akinlade, Ph.D., SHRM-SCP akinlade@sxu.eduSouth Suburban Cook HRMA