About Us

The Illinois State Council for the Society for Human Resource Management (ILSHRM) is dedicated to serving the needs of SHRM chapters in Illinois by representation to the National Society of SHRM and assistance in achieving each SHRM Illinois Chapter’s highest potential. The ILSHRM promotes professionalism in human resources and adds value to the SHRM membership. The ILSHRM Board is made up of volunteer representatives across Illinois who serve to advance the human resources profession.

We follow an activity plan which is designed to guide SHRM State Councils in planning and setting annual objectives for council activities and to recognize those who have achieved excellence in fulfilling their missions. State councils coordinate HR professional development efforts at the state level and serve as the conduit for communication among SHRM and chapters, at-large members, the area board and the national board. Councils also facilitate services and programs for the collective interests of the state’s SHRM and local chapter membership, prospective SHRM members, and chapter leaders, as well as promote activities that benefit the human resource profession.


We promote and support the interests, success and needs of our members and the Illinois HR community.


Illinois’ GoTo HR resource


To be Illinois’ premiere resource for certified and emerging HR professionals and business leaders.

Board Of Directors

The Following Board Member Positions Are Available

Application Period will close on September 28th


SHRM Staff

SHRM Divisional Director, SHRM North Central RegionMartha T. Ramirez, SHRM-SCP, CAEmartha.ramirez@shrm.org 703-535-6290
Field Services Director (backup), SHRM North Central RegionNancy Conway, SHRM-SCPnancy.conway@shrm.org800-283-7476 x6455
Regional Administrator, SHRM North Central RegionNicole HallNicole.Hall@shrm.org​​800-283-7476


ISC DirectorDave Ryan, SHRM-SCP, SPHRdryan@mel-o-cream.com217-483-7272
ISC Director ElectBecky Krueger, SHRM-CP, SPHRbkrueger@ccrpc.org217-819-4026
ISC Past DirectorConnie Wolgemuth,SHRM-CP, PHRcrwolgemuth@gmail.com309 660-7770
ISC Conference ChairRenee Haning, MBA, SHRM-CP, PHRrenee.haning@countryfinancial.com309-310-6229
ISC Finance DirectorGreg Vos, SHRM-SCP, SPHRgj.vo563@gmail.com309-253-8669
ISC Governance DirectorMarianne Steimle, MBA, SHRM-SCPmarianne.steimle@gmail.com630-660-8644

ISC DIRECTORS (SHRM Core Leadership Areas "SHRM CLA")

Professional Development Director (SHRM CLA)Karen Vujtech, SHRM-SPC, SPHR, GPHRkarenvujtec@sbcglobal.net630-337-3149
College Relations Director (SHRM CLA)Nikki Bolden, SHRM-CP, PHRnbolden606@hotmail.com312-550-3811
LegislativeCo- Director (Government Affairs - SHRM CLA)Tami Ireland, SHRM-CP, PHRireland.tami@mhsil.com217-588-2439
Legislative Co -Director (Government Affairs - SHRM CLA)Rob Burn, SHRM-SCP, SPHRrob@landlsolutions.net309-256-2714
SHRM Foundation Representative (SHRM CLA)Nancy Wraight, SHRM-SCP, PHRnancywraight@yahoo.com309.397.0135
Diversity (SHRM CLA)Alberta Johnsonalbertaj09@gmail.com
Membership Director (SHRM CLA)Laura Miller, SHRM-CP, PHRlmiller5@ameren.com618-236-6205 or 618-407-3726
Workforce Readiness (SHRM CLA)Denise St. Pierre, SHRM-CP, PHRdstpierre@reltd.com708-225-8202
Conference Chair -ElectNicole ThulenNthulen@jtcullenco.com815-757-0044
ILSHRM Chapter Management Professional (Non-Voting)Lori Maher McCombslori@mahergroupllc.com913-948-8623


District 1, District Director
Kathleen Seebert, SHRM-SCPseebertk@aol.com312-218-6121
Chicago SHRM #004Shelli Nelson, PHRSnelson2@kcura.com
HRA of Greater Oak Brook #212Brendan NichollsBrendan.nicholls@hotmail.com
DuPage SHRM #316Mary McHughmmchugh@circle8logistics.com
Illinois Fox Valley SHRM #699Crystal Gonzalez SHRM-SCP, SPHRgonzalezc@mastermolded.com224-436-9313
District 2, District Director
Tamara O'Brien SHRM-CP, PHRobrientamara@sbcglobal.net630-373-9316
Rockford Area SHRM #182Cara Freund, SHRM-SCP, SPHRcfreund@mhemail.org
Northern Illinois SHRM #328Jodi Coplan, SHRM-SCP, SPHRJodi.coplan@cognizant.com
Northwest HR Council #193Rachel Solarzrachel.solarzmortellaro@adp.com
Stateline SHRM #532Carlos ArevaloCArevalo@salawus.com
Rock River Human Resource Professional Association #493Kendra Hull, SHRM-CPkendrahull@sinnissippi.com
District 3, District Director
South Suburban Cook #0751Paulette Clarkpclark0808@att.net
Kankakee Area HRMA #399Lori Hoekstra, SHRM-SCP, SPHRlhoekstra@rhc.net
Grundy Will HR Association #619Becky Brillionbeckybrillon@comcast.net
Illinois Valley - SHRM #596Jen Wier-Buckjwier@petsmart.com
District 4, District Director
Todd Ray, SHRM-SCP, SPHRtoddray@decaturfoundry.com217-428-4381
Bloomington/Normal HR Council #064Tara Desmondtara.desmond@yahoo.com
Central Illinois HR Group #246Sarah Koester, SHRM-SCP, SPHRSKoester@SYGMAnetwork.com
Decatur Area SHRM #555Kristen Robinson, SHRM-CP, PHRkrobinso@richland.edu
HRA of East Central Illinois #448Beth Glanzer, SHRM-CPbglanzer@firstmid.com
District 5, District Director
Janeane Reis, SHRM-SCP, SPHRjaneanereis@gmail.com217-223-7146
Central Illinois SHRM #223Amanda Bergdorf, SHRM-CP, PHRbergdorf.amanda@mhsil.com
Heart of Illinois HR Council #326Cathy Plouzek SHRM-SCP, SPHRcsplouzek@gmail.com
Quincy SHRM #491Joellen Randall, SHRM-CP, PHRJoellen.Randall@blessinghealthsystem.org314-330-7707/217-592-6146(w)
Metro East #752Reba Phillips, SHRM-SCP, SPHRrxp0303@bjc.org


Thank you to our past State Council directors! Their leadership and dedication to SHRM and the HR profession is greatly appreciated.
2015 - 2016Connie Woglemuth, SHRM-CP, PHR
2013 - 2014Cathy Plouzek, SHRM-SCP, SPHR 
2011 - 2012Donna K. Rogers, SPHR 
2009 - 2010John Jorgensen, SPHR 
2007 - 2008Carolyn Sperl, SPHR/GPHR 
2005 - 2006Michelle Jackson, SPHR 
2002 – 2004Deneen Costa, SPHR 
2000 - 2001Kristin Velasquez, SPHR 
1998 - 1999Garry Tackett, GPHR, SPHR 
1996 - 1997Lyndy Nierman 
1995 - 1996Claudia Colallilo, SPHR